As most new parents probably are, I’m pretty terrified of SIDS.  Oliver sleeps in a barren crib at night-no blankies, no bumpers, no stuffed animals. (I recently gave him a lovey to sleep with during naps, but I watch him like a hawk.)  And I ALWAYS put him to sleep on his back.  Always.  But ever since he got pretty good at rolling over, he has started doing acrobatics in his crib-thank goodness for his silly helmet, it’s prevented a bunch of bumps and bruises-and now he always ends up sleeping on his tummy.  Which would be fine since he can roll back over except…

He sleeps face down.  I mean face-in-the-mattress kind of face down.  I don’t know how he can breathe.  Jamie and I are constantly checking the baby monitor (thank goodness for modern technology!) to look for signs of life.  A kick, a head thrash, anything. If we can’t tell, we go up and watch to make sure his little back rises and falls.  The first couple of nights of this I didn’t sleep at all!  I guess he’d move if he really couldn’t breathe, but it still freaks me out.  Here are a few pictures of our little guy:

